So, I’ve been struggling for a long time with the reports in Civil 3D no longer working (at least some of the reports). It’s not directly an issue with Civil 3D, the issue is the reports only work on Internet Explorer 9 or earlier. If you have Internet Explorer 10 or newer, some of the reports don’t work. I say it’s not directly an issue with Civil 3D but, in my opinion, it’s rather silly that the reports haven’t been updated to work with the newer versions of Internet Explorer.

Anyways, I had a client call today asking about something completely different. He just recently upgraded his Civil 3D and was wondering why the ability To View Pipe Networks Part Catalog Content wasn’t working. Basically, you can double click on a .htm file in your pipe catalog and view the parts in Internet Explorer. Well, it turns out it works but not if you are using Internet Explorer (IE) 10. If you downgrade to IE 9 or earlier, it works just fine.

Pipe Catalog in Internet Explorer 10

Pipe Catalog in Internet Explorer 10

I sent him that information and he replied back with a workaround! I LOVE it when my clients teach me something new! Turns out, all you have to do is change the browser mode! Once the file is open (allow blocked content if prompted), press the F12 key, and change the browser mode! That’s it! I changed mine to IE 9 and now it works just fine!

Document Mode

Document Mode

This same technique works for the General Legal Description report from the Toolbox in Civil 3D. Run the report (make sure IE is the default browser!), change the document mode, and away you go!

General Legal Description Report in IE 10

General Legal Description Report in IE 10

On my computer I’m running Windows 7. If you are running Window 10, this still works (based on the limited testing I did with a coworker). The concept is the same but the layout is a little different. Here are the settings we used to get it to work in Windows 10.

Settings in Windows 10

Settings in Windows 10

Not sure what the warning are but it seems to have worked (didn’t test the report, just the Pipe Network Catalog).

Hopefully, this will help you all!