I’ve always complained about the highlighting of objects in the QTO Manager, they just aren’t obvious enough! Ok, to be honest, I’ve never actually complained about it to anyone but myself and that’s probably why I just found this out.

So, what’s the problem? Well, if you have objects in your drawing that have a pay item assigned to them, you can have the QTO manager highlight them for you. Problem is, they highlighting isn’t very obvious…

Which objects are highlighted?

Which objects are highlighted?

Well, it turns out that you can control how much the objects that aren’t highlighted are faded back. This setting is found in the AutoCAD options on the Display tab in the Fade control section. The variable you want to adjust is the “In-place edit and annotative representations”. I know, duh! Of course that’s where you should look for this!

AutoCAD Options

AutoCAD Options

Change that variable, say to 3o, and this is what your drawing will look like:

Ah! Much better!

Ah! Much better!

Thanks to Cody with ECS in Wyoming for sharing this with me. I love learning things from my students!!!!