So, I was installing Vault 2015┬áProfessional today and I noticed that the projects weren’t showing up in my Civil 3D and I couldn’t figure out why. I searched the help system, searched the discussion groups, searched Google (I know, talk about desperate!) with no luck. Everywhere I went it said that after installing the client, the projects should just show up (provided the Master View is set in the Prospector) and I couldn’t see my projects. I had the Vault Client installed, I even had the server installed locally (for demo purposes, you shouldn’t do this in a production environment). What to do?

I figured it had to be something with the Vault Client install because, “Projects should be visible after installing the Vault Client”. So, I went to the Control Panel – Programs and Features (aka “Add or Remove a Program”). I found the “Autodesk Vault Professional 2015 R2 (Client)” program, right clicked on it and chose, “Uninstall/Change”.

Change Vault Client

Change Vault Client

In the Setup dialog box that comes up, choose “Add or Remove Features” and then choose the “AutoCAD Civil 3D 2015 Add-In” and then click the “Update” button. After the install finishes, you should see the projects show up in Civil 3D 2015 now!

Install the Civil 3D Add-In

Install the Civil 3D Add-In

Now, the next time I install the Vault Client and I don’t see the projects in Civil 3D, when I search Google for it, hopefully this blog post will come up and remind be about it!