This is the e-mail I sent out to those that I thought would be interested and are local here. If you are interested in joining me, leave a comment and I’ll give you the location details.

Hello everyone. I hope the New Year is treating you well so far. I’ve decided to start up the Civil 3D Users Group again but this time we are going to do things a bit different. Last time we did this, I think we tried to get too formal. We tried to get people to sign up to discuss topics, have sponsors, find locations for the meetings, etc. I’m going to make this really simple, come to my house Thursday, February 17th if you want to geek out about Civil 3D.

This is intended for people that use Civil 3D and want to take it to the next level. This is not a class. We will not be teaching Civil 3D so if you don’t know Civil 3D, this is not a place to learn the basics of it. You are more than welcome to come, just don’t expect us to discuss beginner topics.

There will be no agenda. If you want to talk about something, and the rest of the group agrees, we’ll talk about it. If nobody wants to talk about anything, then it will be a really short meeting. Don’t worry; if both Bryan Thomasy and I are there, I’m sure something will come up for discussion.

 

This is not sponsored by CAD-1. I work for CAD-1 but this is me putting this together, not CAD-1. Other resellers are invited to join but I do ask that they come as a user of the software, not as a representative of their company. If you are impressed with what they have to say and you want to talk to them (or me), so be it. One of the things I hope this becomes is a great networking resource, not a chance for people to sell their wares to you.

I’ll have my laptop and a projector with me so if you want to show off some design that you have done, this is a great place to do it. If you want advice on better ways to accomplish something you’re working on, again, a great place to do it.

When will the next meeting be? Who knows? I’ll look at my calendar and check with my wife to see when will be a good time to meet again and then I’ll send out another e-mail. If someone wants to host a meeting, that’s great.

I do live in Northern Colorado (Johnstown to be specific) so those of you that are on the southern side of Denver, it might be a bit tough making it up here. But hey, I’m planning it, I get to choose where we meet! If you want to meet someplace else, you are more than welcome to plan the next one.

Feel free to pass this along to others you think might be interested in joining us. One thing I will require is that anyone coming must RSVP. If you show up at my house without RSVPing, you won’t be welcome. (Ok, I’ll probably still let you in; I’ll just give you a hard time about it and do my best to embarrass you in front of everyone.) Since we are doing this in my house, I need to know how many people are coming. If a lot of people are interested, we’ll have to find a new venue.