I know what you all were thinking, he starts this great new blog and then, nothing!  What happened?  Did he give up on it already?  Fear not, I spent the last week with my family in Disney World.  Chasing three little boys around Florida is a lot of fun.  It’s not very relaxing but it is a lot of fun.

So, anyways, here’s what’s next:  I have a fantastic label that I set up and it has a line that shows the label location.  When I pull it into the dragged state, I want the line to remain so I set the label to As Composed instead of Stacked Text but, I just want an arrow going from the label location to my line and I don’t want that awful little landing!

How do you go about making this change?  Well, if you select the label, and go to your AutoCAD properties, one of the properties listed is Leader Tail Visibility.  There are two options for this, From Label Style and Always Hide.  If you want to see the leader tail, set it to From Label Style.  If you don’t want to see it, set it to Always Hide.

Reading those two options, you would think that you could set this in the label style.  Unfortunately, you can’t.  Here’s why I don’t think you can:  The developers where going to allow you to set this property in the label style but this feature was not quite ready for this release however, the property was created, it’s just not supported at the style level yet.  If you want to change all your labels, select on and then, on the context sensitive ribbon tab, choose Select Similar and then make the change in the properties.

Oh well, perhaps 2011 will have this capability built into the style.